Adult Leagues Adult Tournaments Junior Tournaments Jr. Team Tennis Tennis For Kids




fb twitter






Tennessee Recognizes 2017 Annual Award Winners


NASHVILLE, Tenn. – December 1, 2017 – USTA Tennessee announced today the recipients of its 2017 awards, which recognize those who have made outstanding contributions to the sport of tennis. Winners will be recognized during the 2018 USTA Tennessee Annual Meeting, January 26-27, 2018.

Tennis would not flourish in the state of TN if it were not for the organizations, volunteers, players, officials, tennis enthusiasts, parents and many more who serve and work to promote the growth of tennis. Every year, USTA TN is proud to honor those people who go above and beyond both on and off the court.

Selected winners were nominated as candidates by the members of the TN tennis community.


Below are the USTA TN award recipients:

CTA of the Year – Jackson West-TN Tennis Association (Jackson)

Official of the Year – Carla Brangenberg (Memphis)

Educational Merit Award – Dr. Jean Heise, Knox County Schools Humanities Supervisor

Tennis Professional of the Year – Meg Bandy (Signal Mountain)

Volunteer of the Year – Cheryl Thompson (Knoxville)

Family of the Year – The Karl Family (Knoxville)

Special Tennis Event of the Year – Boys and Girls Club of Greater Memphis Tennis Invitational (Memphis)

Outstanding Wheelchair Player of the Year – David Jordan (Chapel Hill)

Outstanding Adult Player of the Year – Tennys Sandgren (Gallatin)

Adult Captain of the Year – Michelle Palk (Nashville)

Junior Team Tennis Captain of the Year - Brannon Jones (Hendersonville)

Adult Tournament of the Year – Southern Senior Men's & Women's Winter Indoor Open, Tournament Director: Benny Jones (Nashville)

Junior Tournament of the Year – Tennessee State Junior Qualifying Championships 16U-18U at the Champions Club, Tournament Director: Andrew Rogers (Chattanooga)

Local League Coordinator of the Year – Tanya Capeling (Nashville)

Junior Team Tennis Coordinator of the Year – Christian and Melissa Burns (Knoxville)

Junior Boy Sportsmanship Award – George Corzine (Nashville)

Junior Girl Sportsmanship Award – Maddox Bandy (Signal Mountain)

Most Improved Boy Player of the Year – Walker Stearns (Germantown)

Most Improved Girl Player of the Year – Willa Rogers (Kingsport)

Most Outstanding Boy Player of the Year – Andrew Rogers (Brentwood)

Most Outstanding Girl Player of the Year – Julia Adams (Knoxville)


Click Here for Past Award Winners