Adult Leagues Adult Tournaments Junior Tournaments Jr. Team Tennis Tennis For Kids




fb twitter






2019 JTT State Championships



2019 JTT State Championships
July 19-21
Adams Tennis Complex

Click here to view the event photo album

MURFREESBORO, TN The Junior Team Tennis State Championships returned to Murfreesboro in the 2019 calendar year, hosting sixty one teams and four hundred-fifty players from across the state on the weekend of July 19-21. Adams Tennis Center’s outstanding facilities served as the primary host site, which were complimented by a premier high school facility at Middle Tennessee Christian School.

Action began Friday morning as teams entered pool play in their respective divisions. The two largest divisions, 18U Intermediate (26 teams) and 14U Intermediate (17 teams) had record-sized pools in which teams from West, Middle, Southeast, and East Tennessee competed in. This year’s championships also fielded advanced divisions in the 10U, 14U, and 18U divisions.

The featured Friday night player party was hosted at The Grove at Williamson Place, a classic dairy farm turned multi-purpose event space that still has a daily operating farm. The party featured catered food, a DJ, an obstacle course bounce house, raffle and prize giveaways, and outdoor yard games like corn hole and spike ball. This party would not have been possible without the support of tournament partners like the Grove at Williamson Place, String n Swing, Tennis Nashville, Newk’s Eatery, and Brown Bag Catering.

Pool play concluded on Saturday afternoon and evening, which sent the winner of each pool in their respective division to the playoff round on Sunday (results below). The 2019 wild card division was also announced Sunday afternoon, which was awarded to the 2nd place team in the 12U Intermediate division, the CBRC Titans, coach by Chris Kiser. Congratulations to all teams that participated in the state championships!

Sportsmanship award winners were also nominated and recognized by captains to honor admirable behavior displayed on the court (see below for winners).

USTA Tennessee would like to thank our partners for the event:  Tennis Nashville, Brown Bag Catering, Laserfibre, Daffodilly Design, The Grove at Williamson Place, The LaLance family, Rutherford County Convention and Visitor's Bureau, and Newk’s Eatery,  for partnering with us on this event.  Special thanks also goes to the people who worked behind the scenes to make this a memorable event for all of the players, Adams Tennis complex, tournament staff, facility staff, and all volunteers!

Fall Junior Team Tennis
Junior Team Tennis leagues are offered year-round throughout the state. Contact your Local JTT Coordinator or visit TennisLink to register for an upcoming fall league!

Girls Sportsmanship Award Winner (nominated by captains)

Molly Kate Merryman (Murfreesboro Patriots, 18U INT) **4 nominations

Boy Sportsmanship Award Winners (nominated by captains)

Matt Norman (Cookeville Blue, 18U INT) **4 nominations
Reece Britt (Pistol Creek Bobcasts, 18U INT) **4 nominations

Sportsmanship Honorable Mention (more than one nomination)

Ada Aytug ***Ada Aytug 
Ben Aikens
Brooks Berry
Estella Bookout
Christian Bowlin
Cait Bowling
Harper Bynum
Sam Carneal
Brayden Conn
Molly Crawford
Bailey Dishmon
Paddon Doyle
Emma Duchesneau
Lincoln Elrod
Will Feldman
Patrick Fiechtl
Avery Franklin ***3 nominations
Matt Gideon
Jacob Ginn
Alexus Govert
Jay Griggs
Noah Gunter
Tucker Hemphill
Drew Holland *** 3 nominations
Simon Horne
Liam Houch
Addison AJ Hughes ***3 nominations
Blakely Humphrey
Anna James Hutsenpiller
Chandler Jackson
Ella Kane
Katherine Klenske
Virginia Klenske
Richard LaLance
Ryan Leckrone
Theo Liakonis
Sadie Lowman ***3 nominations
Evan Ly
Laine McAmis
Mason McConnell ***3 nominations
Brady McGrath
Claire McOmie
Samuel Meares
Nicolas Mercante
Hillary Llamas
Simon MIchael
Ryan Miller
Max Milliken
Mary Emma Moran
Zac Music
Will Nelson
Griffen Nichols ***3 nominations
Mary Osucha
Lauren Pitts
Ethan Porterfield
Anna Qian
Danielle Rappuhn
Joshua Rodriguez
Willa Rogers
Chloe Sawrie
Vivian Schroeder
Faith Sommer
Gigi Sompayrac
Matthew Souriya
Mason Statema
Caroline Stickley ***3 nominations
Josh Strickland
Sadie Mae Stroud ***3 nominations
Nick Suttles ***3 nominations
Mary Evelyn Thornton
Madeline Tompkins
Kinley Whittington ***3 nominations
Brandon Wilhoit ***3 nominatiosn
Emily Williams ***3 nominations
Audrey Yoon

Winners and Finalists (Winners invited to JTT Sectionals in Rome, GA August 9-11)

Age/Level Division Champion Division Finalist
10U INT Hendersonville 10U (Captain: Amy Gunter) Murfreesboro Blue (Captain: Cathy McConnell)
10U ADV Knoville RC 10U (Capt: Hala Sufi) Nashville 10U (Capt: Kim Wilson)
12U INT Nashville Hot Chickens (Capt: Tiffani Doyle) CBRC Titans (Capt: Chris Kiser) WC to Sectionals
14U INT Music City Spin Doctors (Capt: Jim Sulcer) CBRC High Fives (Capt: Dana Forsyth)
14U ADV The Outsiders (Capt: Ashley Murdock) Nashville 14U (Capt: Kim Wilson)
18U INT DGCC Bulldogs (Capt: Garrick Sanford) Chattanooga Lightning (Capt: Lucia Dishmon)
18U ADV Tri Cities Elite (Capt: David Poole) CBRC Mustangs (Capt: Ezequiel Gils)