Adult Leagues Adult Tournaments Junior Tournaments Jr. Team Tennis Tennis For Kids




fb twitter






2015 USTA Southern Awards Announced


USTA Southern announced Friday the recipients of its 2015 awards, given for
outstanding achievements in tennis both on and off the court.
Twenty-seven winners will be recognized during the USTA Southern Annual
Meeting at the Atlanta Perimeter Marriott Hotel, scheduled for
Saturday, Jan. 16, 2016.

Seven of those recipients will be representing Tennessee! Congratulations to
the following recipients! USTA Tennessee is honored and proud to have people
every year who go above and beyond on and off the court to promote and
grow tennis in our state! Congratulations Again!

You can find the official story and more information about the USTA Southern Awards here. 

Gerrie Rothwell Award – Cheryl Thompson (Knoxville, TN)
Presented annually to a volunteer within the USTA Southern Section who has demonstrated outstanding service and dedication to the USTA League program. This award is given in honor of the late Gerrie Rothwell, former State League Coordinator of Arkansas.

Junior Team Tennis Coordinator of the Year – Laura Huss (Memphis, TN)
This award is presented to an individual in the USTA Southern Section who has been outstanding
in the coordination of Junior Team Tennis league play.

Jr. Tourn. of the Year – Deco-Turf High School Inv. (Chattanooga, TN)
Presented to the USTA-sanctioned junior tournament in the Southern Section that best
demonstrates the USTA and USTA Southern Section standards of organizing and conducting a sanctioned junior event. The winner of this award is selected by the Awards Committee.

Mac MacDougal Tennis Official of the Year – Isabelle Snyder (Knoxville, TN)
Presented annually to a tennis official who has made outstanding contributions to the cause of tennis officiating in the USTA Southern Section. The award is named for Mac MacDougal, who served as an esteemed official for many decades. The winner of this award is selected by the Awards Committee.

Marilyn Sherman Spirit Award – Cheryl Thompson (Knoxville, TN)
Given annually to a staff member or volunteer who exemplifies extraordinary spirit in growing the game of tennis in the USTA Southern Section, the award is named for Marilyn Sherman, long-time USTA Southern Director of Adult Competition and Leagues.

Southern Tennis Professional of the Year – David Poole (Bristol, TN)
Presented annually to a tennis professional in the USTA Southern Section who demonstrates a significant contribution to the game of tennis through their promotion of the USA Tennis Programs and their support of the USTA Mission. The winner of this award is selected by the Awards Committee.

Tennis on Campus Club of the Year – Vanderbilt University (Nashville, TN
Presented to leader that has made significant contributions to the USTA Tennis On Campus program on his/her campus.